The governance of the TSARA initiative includes a general assembly with two co-chairs bringing together all the organizations involved in the initiative, which has decision-making power, an executive secretariat to support the implementation of the initiative, and soon an external advisory board made up of external partners to provide scientific and political guidance.


General Assembly

The General Assembly brings together representatives of all member institutions that have signed the letter of intent and associate members.  

Its role is to make strategic decisions concerning the plan and to oversee its implementation. It meets once a year unless an exceptional GA is required. It discusses the progress made by the thematic groups. It is co-chaired by a representative of the African organizations and a representative of the European organizations.

Co-chairmen are appointed by consensus for a one-year term. Following the principle of a rotating presidency, the co-presidents of the current year and the following year are involved in preparing the AGM.

At the invitation of one of the co-presidents, these AGMs will be held in an African country or Europe. Dedicated funding is sought for the organization of each annual GA.


The secretariat oversees the development and monitoring of projects and actions. It works under the authority of the GA co-presidents and includes members of African and European institutions.

The secretariat also supports the organization of CCE meetings and the activities of the thematic groups.  It comprises representatives from 12 TSARA member organizations. Renewable by half every 3 years.

OrganismePays Représentants 1Représentants 2
ARCSouth AfricaBridget Takalani MUROVHILerato MABOA
CILSSAfrique de l'OuestKhalil SANGARE
CIRDESBénin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Mali, Niger et TogoBengaly ZAKARIA
INRAEFranceSegolene HALLEY des FONTAINES et Marie SCHILLAstou SYLLA et Benoît DEDIEU
IRADCamerounEugene EHABE
ISRASénégalTamsir MBAYE
Université d'AntananarivoMadagascarGabrielle RAJOELISON
Université de CarthageTunisieYadh ZAHAR
Université de Cheik Anta DiopSénégalMady CISSEKaramoko DIARRA
University of PretoriaSouth AfricaAbel RAMOELODandalene ROBINSON
University of ZimbabweZimbabwePrisca H. MUGABE

Permanent guests : Philippe PETITHUGUENIN (Cirad), Benoît DEDIEU & Ségolène HALLEY des FONTAINES (INRAE)

External Advisory Committee (EAC)

Composed of around ten independent personalities appointed by the GA and sitting intuitu personae for their skills or expertise in the field.

The EAC advises the AGM on the strategies to be developed to achieve the initiative’s objectives in terms of research, innovation, training and impact on sustainable development, and advises the working groups. EAC members may come from the academic world, contributing in particular to international scientific expertise, or from institutions committed to sustainable development (development agencies, financial institutions, foundations, regional organisations).

The composition of the EAC ensures a balance of skills, gender and geographical diversity. The terms of office are two years, renewable, and half of the EAC is renewed.

Thematic Task forces

The thematic working groups draw up the scientific agenda for the theme in question, and develop a portfolio of actions and projects. Each is supported by a core group (thematic task force) and a wider scientific community. 

They are supported by the secretariat and report on project progress to the General Meeting and the EAC.

Following the second GA, an inter-thematic task force group was created.